Nudie Denim Review

Nudie Denim Review

The average person pays under 50 dollars for a pair of jeans, however I took the leap into a pair of Nudie Co. denim that retail at 215 dollars to test the waters of expensive denim. After blowing out numerous pairs of cheap denim from H&M in a short period, I knew it was time to move on.

The pair I purchased was a black on indigo over-dye with a skinny fit that they called the “Thin Finn Black Dust.” The retail cost is steep, but the product is manufactured in Italy using 100% organic cotton and low emission dyes for a more eco friendly and sweatshop free product. Not only do they justify the price by how it is produced but by how long the denim lasts. Their website shows a variety of worn in jeans that have lasted several years and how the jeans age over time.

I bought the denim off their website without trying them on, hoping that their claim to “true to size” was indeed correct. I received the denim in a great custom box with their logo imprinted on the outside, the pair of jeans had two hang tags that explained the product. After ripping off the tags and packaging, I had to slip them on to check the fit.

The fit was slim around the legs but slightly larger in the waste than I expected, but still fit well with a belt. The denim itself was a bit stiff, similar to selvage, and the black dye is visible over the indigo denim giving it a slightly worn feel. The tags suggest to wear the denim for 6 months without washing for the best results, and I have accepted that challenge.

I have worn the denim for about one month now without a wash and have already seen a slight fade in the dye, which is to be expected and makes the denim look much less blotchy than when I originally received them . The fit as gotten less tight over time, but is expected to tighten up after washing due to shrinkage of the untreated denim. To avoid any sort of smell I stick them in the freezer every so often and it keeps them fresh.

At the end of the day I spent a ton of money for a pair of jeans, but I am very satisfied with the fit, the quality of the detail, and the fact that I did not throw money to a company that uses sweatshops to produce a cheap and terrible product. The more I wear these the more character they will have, I can already tell they will last a lot longer than any denim I have previously purchased. Along with that the brand offers repairs for free at any of their stores. So instead of buying jeans every 6 months, I can have these last for several years with a better look, feel, and a more friendly product to the environment and its people.

You can grab some of these at http://www.nudiejeans.com or at one of their numerous worldwide stockists.

You can also learn more about their recycling process, and infographics on their blog.

capture

Leave a Reply

